项目历史回顾

美国国家中国园作为中美两国永久合作关系的象征,为增进美中关系,人民之间的交流和传播中国传统文化提供一个独特平台。打造一个中国文化中心的展望源于2004年中国国家林业和草原管理局(原中国林业局)和美国农业部决定在美国首都华盛顿特区建立一个中国扬州园林的意向。

年表

2021

美国国家中国园基金会2011年成立,在中国和美国两国政府及企业的支持下,2021年1月5日是基金会成立10周年纪念日。

2020

中国园基金会宣布了新的董事会成员和资深咨询委员会成员。新当选的董事会成员包括总裁兼财政总监嵇董蕾,董事长莫天成,副总裁兼副董事长John Gerber, 秘书长兼助理财务总监Tiffany M. Atwell;发言人丁瑞勤。除董事会成员外,资深咨询委员会的成员包括方李邦琴,李禹熳,James Travis,Peter Stanton和文厚博士。

 

中国园设计项目已接近100%完成。美国哥伦毕业特区能源和环境部(DOEE)有望在美国哥伦比亚特区消费者与监管事务部审阅批准所有设计规范后批准"中国园“项目的建筑许可证。

2019

在美国农业部西蒙·刘博士和基金会董事John Gerber先生的领导下,国家中国园基金会与Page Southerland Page,LLP(现为Page / Think)就重点关注和设计相关的问题举行了非常成功的会议。

 

中国园基金会在2019年年终成功举办了一次公共支持活动,欢迎了来自各个政府机构的100位来宾。中国驻美国大使馆的徐学渊部长发表了主题演讲。中国驻美国大使馆在其官方网站上还发布了本次活动的文章。

2018

2018年2月,中国园基金会董事会通过了一项以帮助实现维持捐赠基金的筹款目标计划。

 

中国园基金会主席莫天成和基金会设计与建筑董事John Gerber先生访华,并对中国园项目进行推广

2017

一个由中国国家林业和草原管理局和中国竹藤国际中心成员组成的中国代表团访问了美国首都华盛顿特区,与美国农业部举行会议,讨论了该中国园项目,并参观了其在美国国家植物园内的园址。

 

中国园基金会已被批准成为参加国家首都辖区2017年联邦联合筹款活动(CFC)的数百家慈善机构之一。

 

中国园基金会还参加了11月份的全球非营利性机构组织的“捐赠星期二”在线捐助计划活动。

2016

中国园基金会在3月宣布了新的董事会成员名单。新当选的董事会成员,包括基金会总裁莫天成,副总裁Jeanne Connelly,财务总监单艺,秘书长Peter Stanton 以及会员Clay Hickson。

 

2016年10月28日,中美两国官员参加了美国国家植物园内中国园的破土动工仪式,这标志着美国首都地区备受关注和期待的本地旅游景点正式开始建设。

2015

中国园基金会和美国设计团队在2015年6月参加了由费本华博士率领的中方代表团参加的第十届中美联合工作会议,并与美国国家植物园新任主任理查德博士举行了联合设计团队会议。基金会也非常荣幸的得知中国园项目将得到中国外交部,中国大使馆和所有驻美使领事馆的支持以协助我们进行项目筹款。

中国园基金会获得中国扬州英成集团有限公司的首笔500万美元款项以完成园林的设计和施工计划。同年,基金会还获得了美国三家大型跨国公司(可口可乐,杜邦,孟山都)对中国园项目的捐款。

 

美国艺术委员会确正式批准美国国家园林设计概念。

2014

在美国农业部长维尔萨克的大力支持下, 美国国家中国园基金会成立了由现任和前任委任选出的中美官员,工商领袖组成的中国园名誉委员会。他们高度重视美国国家中国园并全力推广该项目。

2013年

在美中战略经济对话具体成果清单中,中美两国确认美国国家中国园列入加强双边关系的优先项目。

美国国家中国园基金会聘用美国建筑事务所佩奇(Page Southerland Page,现Page/Think)带领美国建筑和工程组来完成最初由一家中国园林设计院设计的美国国家中国园初步设计。

中方专家设计组与美方专家一起合作完成了美国国家中国园项目15%的工程可行性设计阶段。

2011年

美国农业部长汤姆·维尔萨克和中国驻美大使张业遂签署谅解备忘录同意在美国国家植物园内建造美国国家中国园。

美国国家中国园基金会是在美国哥伦比亚特区注册成立的一家501(c)(3)非营利性组织,与美国农业部合作为园区的建造与建成后的常年运营维护筹集资金。

2009年

美国国家美术委员会和国家首都规划委员会批准在植物园内修建美国国家中国园的总体规划。

2008年

美国农业法案立法,授权农业部长使用美国国家植物园内12英亩土地用来建造美国国家中国园,并为园林建设和维护筹集私人资金。

2007年

T2004年签署的政府协议已到期,两国同意由中国国家林业和草原管理局(原中国国家林业局)和美国农业部门签署一份新的谅解备忘录,继续合作共同完成美国国家中国园项目。

2006年

美国农业部部长,中国大使和中国林业社科院院长出席在美国国家植物园举行的美国国家中国园奠基仪式。

2005年

美国和中国设计专家组进行实地考察研究,并完成园林总体设计方案。

2004年

中方和美方设计专家组举行了多次工作会议,讨论各项事宜并成立了美国国家中国园项目小组委员会。美国农业部长安•维尼曼和中国驻美大使杨洁篪签订正式协议,共同建设美国国家中国园项目。

2003年

江泽慧女士, 中国林科院院长, 参观了美国国家植物园中国园的提议园址。江女士及时任美国农业部负责研究、教育和经济的副部长任筑山,签署成立美国国家中国园联合工作组意向书。

欲了解更多详细信息,请查看江女士的回顾史

Project History

The National China Garden is an enduring symbol of goodwill between China and the United States and offers a unique platform for strong U.S.-China Relations, people to people exchanges, and the celebration of Chinese culture. The vision for a Chinese cultural center grew out of the 2004 agreement between the National Forestry and Grassland Administration of People's Republic of China and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to build a classical Chinese Garden in Washington, DC. China's rich flora and long history of garden development has had a profound influence on horticulture and garden design throughout the world.

Chronology

2021

With the support from both Chinese and American governments and corporations, January 5th, 2021, is the NCGF's 10th anniversary since the Foundation was established in 2011.

2020

The NCGF announced its new board directors and its Executive Advisory Committee members.  Guiding the efforts to advance the project are members of the newly elected board members, including President Donglei Ji; Chairman Samuel T. Mok; Co-Chairman and Vice President John Gerber; Secretary and Assistant Treasurer Tiffany M. Atwell; Treasurer and Spokesman Steven Drake. In addition to board members, the Executive Advisory Committee including Florence Fang, Yuman Li, Jim Travis, Peter V. Stanton, and Alfred D. Wilhelm, Jr.  

 

The National China Garden design project is near 100% completed. The Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) expects to sign off on the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs (DCRA) permit as soon as ARS/USDA approves all the drawings and specifications.

2019

Page Southerland Page, L.L.P (now Page/Think), the National China Garden design team held a very successful meeting under the lead of Dr. Simon Liu from the United State Department of Agriculture (USDA) with Mr. John Gerber, Chairman of Design and Architecture of the NCGF focusing on the design-related issues.

 

A year-end public support campaign was successfully held and welcomed 100 guests from various government agencies. Minister Xu from the Chinese Embassy delivered one of the keynote speeches, and the Chinese Embassy published the event article on the official Embassy website.

2018

In February 2018, the Foundation Board of Directors adopted a plan to help achieve the maintenance endowment's fundraising goals.

 

President Samuel T. Mok and the NCGF’ Design & Architecture Committee John Gerber visited China and took the opportunity to promote the National China Garden project during their trip.

 

The Foundation and the China Garden project were introduced at the Asian American Government Executive Network annual reception.

2017

A Chinese delegation with the members from the National Forestry and Grassland Administration of China and the International Center for Bamboo and Rattan, China, visited Washington, D.C for meetings with the U.S. Department of Agriculture to discuss the garden project and had a tour of the garden site, the construction lay-down areas and construction access route to the site at the U.S. National Arboretum in April.

 

The NCGF has been approved to be listed as one of the hundreds of charities participating in the 2017 Combined Federal Campaign (CFC) in the National Capital Area.

 

The NCGF also participated in the "Giving Tuesday" program, a global, online nonprofit day of giving program in November

2016

The NCGF announced its new slate of Directors and members in March.  The newly elected board members including President Samuel T. Mok, Vice President Jeanne Connelly, Treasurer Rita Yi Shan, Secretary Peter V. Stanton, and Member-at-Large Clay Hickson.

 

Chinese and American officials broke ground on the China Garden in the U.S. National Arboretum on October 28th, 2016, signaling the start of construction on a much-anticipated local tourist attraction in the national capital area.

2015

The Foundation and U.S. design team welcomed members of a Chinese side delegation led by Dr. Fei Benhua in June 2015 for the 10th Sino-U.S. Joint Working Meeting and a Joint Design Team Meeting with the new director of the National Arboretum, Dr. Richard Olsen. The Foundation was delighted to learn that the garden project will be supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China, the Chinese Embassy, and all of the Consulates in the U.S.to help with the fundraising.

 

The Foundation has secured the first $5 million to complete design and construction planning from a domestic Chinese enterprise, Yangzhou Yingcheng Group Ltd. It also secured contributions from three major US-based multinational corporations (Coca Cola, DuPont, Monsanto).

 

The U.S. Commission of Fine Arts confirms its official approval of the National China Garden concept design. 

2014

With the support of US Secretary of Agriculture Vilsack the National China Garden Foundation forms the China Garden Honorary Committee, a group of current and former appointed and elected US and Chinese officials, trade and industry leaders, who endorse and promote the value and importance of the garden project.

2013

National China Garden is affirmed as a priority initiative for enhancing bilateral relations in the US-China Strategic and Economic Dialogue outcomes.

National China Garden Foundation engages the US architectural and engineering team led by architectural firm Page Southerland Page, now Page/Think to realize the plan for the China Garden originally designed by a Chinese landscape design team.

The Chinese side design team and partners and US side design team and partners in the project work together to complete the 15% design feasibility phase of work on the China Garden project.

2011

US Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and China's Ambassador to the United States Zhang Yesui sign a Memorandum of Understanding to construct China Garden in the U.S. National Arboretum.

National China Garden Foundation is incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation in the District of Columbia to lead the fundraising and work with the U.S. Department of Agriculture to construct, maintain and provide cultural programming for the China Garden.

2009

U.S. Commission of Fine Arts and the National Capital Planning Commission approve the master plan for the China Garden at the Arboretum.

2008

US Farm Bill becomes law, giving the US Secretary of Agriculture authority to build the China Garden on 12-acres of undeveloped land in the U.S. National Arboretum and to raise private funds for the garden construction and maintenance.

2007

The 2004 joint government agreement expires and both countries agree to sign a new Memorandum of Understanding between the National Forestry and Grassland Administration of the People's Republic of China and the U.S. Department of Agriculture and to continue cooperation until completion of the China Garden.

2006

China Garden site dedication is held at the U.S. National Arboretum with the Secretary of Agriculture, the Chinese Ambassador, and the President of the Chinese Academy of Forestry participating in the ceremonies.

2005

US and Chinese design teams finalize the garden design plans and site analyses are conducted.

2004

Chinese and American design teams hold working sessions to discuss concepts and establish subcommittees for the China Garden project.

Ann M. Veneman, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture and the Chinese Ambassador to the United States, Yang Jiechi, sign a formal agreement to cooperatively construct the China Garden.

2003

Madam Jiang Zehui, President of the Chinese Academy of Forestry, visits the proposed site of the China Garden at the U.S. National Arboretum.

Madam Jiang and then U.S. Department of Agriculture Under Secretary for Research, Education and Economics, Joseph Jen, sign the Letter of Intent to establish a China Garden joint working group.

To learn more, please read the complete history of the project.